FREE Case Evaluation
Columbia Driving Without a License Lawyer
Although it may be tempting to get behind the wheel of a vehicle and drive it on the highway when you may not necessarily be legally allowed to such an offense can carry both fines and potential jail time. Therefore if you have found yourself facing such a charge, it is important to hire a Columbia driving without a license lawyer as soon as possible. Only a knowledgeable traffic attorney can assist in minimizing any penalties associated with your charge.
Unlicensed Driving Laws
Section 16-101 of the Maryland Transportation Article states that an individual may not drive or attempt to drive a motor vehicle on any highway in Maryland unless the individual holds a valid driver’s license. Violating this offense, depending on the type of license an individual either does or does not possess, which impacts the specific penalties an individual will face. It is important to know the legalities of driving without a license in Maryland, and to be aware of the specific consequences of violating this law. An experienced driving without a license lawyer can aid in keeping a client informed about any and all specific penalties.
Without a License
Driving without a license is a misdemeanor, and the penalty is a fine of not more than $500 and a maximum of 60 days incarceration. It is possible that a judge will place someone in jail if they have not hired a Columbia driving without a license attorney due to the seriousness of the offense, or if someone had been charged previously for the same offense. However, many times this charge can be resolved by obtaining a valid license and bringing it to court to show the prosecutor.
Without a License in Possession
Unlicensed driving with no license in possession means that an individual was licensed to drive, but lacked proof at the time. This is an infraction that may be dismissed once the individual can prove that they possessed a valid license at the time of the incident. Unlicensed driving with no license in possession is a misdemeanor, and the individual may have to pay a fine. Many times this charge can be resolved by obtaining a valid license and bringing it to court to show the prosecutor. The prosecutor will then dismiss the citation. A Columbia driving without a license lawyer in Columbia can advise their client on the best course of action after being charged.
Under Maryland law, drivers who are found to be operating a vehicle on a suspended license can face very serious consequences, including incarceration. Driving on a suspended license can result in a year of incarceration, up to a $1,000 fine and up to 12 points on the accused individual’s driver’s license.
Those who are caught driving on a suspended license for a second time face up to two years of incarceration in addition to the other penalties. This offense is also likely to result in a substantial increase in the accused individual’s insurance rates. This will make it harder for an individual to afford to drive once their license is eventually reinstated.
Driving on a Revoked License
If a person is convicted of driving on a revoked license, the penalties are similar to those for driving on a suspended license. An individual can be sentenced to up to one year in jail, given a $1,000 fine and add 12 points on their driving record. Although the penalties are similar with both driving while suspended and driving on a revoked license, a conviction for driving with a revoked license means it’s very likely that the consequences will include a longer loss of driving privileges. There are much harsher penalties for driving with a suspended or revoked license, as compared to other license-related infractions. If you’ve found yourself facing these more severe charges, hiring a Columbia driving without a license lawyer is of the utmost importance.