FREE Case Evaluation
First DUI in Maryland
When you are arrested for your first DUI in Maryland, it can be particularly stressful. You do not know what you are up against and this may be the first time you have ever been cuffed and put in the back of a police car. You have every right to be nervous. Luckily, the Maryland DUI attorneys at our firm are here to help put your mind at ease as you go to court and face potentially life-changing consequences.
When an officer approaches your vehicle, whether or not you have been drinking, you do not have to answer their questions. Many people do not realize that they can invoke their right to remain silent long before the officer advises them of this right. Simply handing over your driver’s license and registration is cooperation enough. You also have the right to refuse to take the field sobriety tests. These tests are designed to test your fine motor skills and provide evidence of your impairment.
The penalties you could face for your first Maryland DUI are pretty serious. Listed below are the maximum penaltiesyou face:
- Up to one year in jail
- $1,000 in fines
- 12 points on your driving record
- Possible license suspension/revocation
In order to deal with your first Maryland DUI, consulting with an attorney to review your legal strategy is a good first step. An attorney can help ensure that your rights are protected at every stage of the game and can help minimize the impact of such charges on your life.
Contact our Maryland DUI lawyers today to discuss the case against you and what can be done to ensure you get the best results possible at your day in court.
Second-Time DUI Violation in Maryland
The first time you are arrested for a DWI can be a frightening experience. The second time is no less stressful. Increased penalties and no first-offense free pass can make the second time even harder. When you are facing a second Maryland DWI offense, you need to have someone on your side who knows the system and knows what options might be available to you.
Though many people do not know this, you do not have to answer the questions of an officer when they pull you over. When they ask how much you have had to drink or where you are coming from, they are building a case against you. Their investigation begins the moment they see you driving. Every word and action can be used against you.
From questioning why they pulled you over to reviewing how the arrest and field sobriety testing was handled, a Maryland DUI attorney will ensure your rights have remained protected at every step of the way.
If you are charged with a second driving under the influence charge in Maryland and already have a prior DUI conviction on your record, you could face the following penalties:
- Up to two years in jail
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- Possible Motor Vehicle Administration revocation of your driving privileges
In addition to these legal ramifications, a second-offense DUI charge in Maryland can have untold effects on your personal life and even your career. From missing work due to a jail sentence to not being there because you do not have a license, many people have lost their jobs as a consequence of a DUI.
An experienced Maryland DUI attorney knows the issues you are facing and understands you need an advocate in the legal system. Because repeat DUI offenders often feel like no one in the system is on their side, their defense attorney’s assistance is all the more important.
Third-Time DUI Offense
Facing a third Maryland drunk driving charge can be quite stressful and even frightening as you face stricter penalties and untold added personal stress.
A third-offense DUI in Maryland is taken very seriously by the police and the courts. In the interest of keeping the roads safe and protecting people from potentially deadly accidents, the prosecutors in Maryland often penalize repeat drunk driving offenders zealously. Having an experienced drunk driving attorney on your side can help minimize the impact of such charges and ensure that you are treated fairly in the Maryland courts.
The penalties you faced for your first two DUI charges were most likely quite harsh. However, you can expect to face even more serious consequences this time around. The maximum penalties for a third conviction for a Maryland DUI are:
- Up to three years in jail
- Up to $3,000 in fines
- DMV suspension of driving privileges
In addition to these legal and DMV sanctions, you could face increased insurance premiums, loss of employment, and stress on your personal relationships.
People get behind the wheel every day after having a few drinks. They rarely think they will be the one to get caught and go to jail. But first-time forgiveness isn’t available for those people who have repeatedly been arrested for suspicion of DUI. When you’re faced with a third Maryland DUI, you need an advocate in your corner—someone who understands the law.