telephone For A Free Consultation Call (301) 761-4842
En Español

Bethesda Driving without Registration and Insurance Lawyer 

A Bethesda driving without registration and insurance lawyer is here to help. Under Maryland law, it is required that all drivers in Maryland register their car with the MVA to ensure that the taxes are paid on the vehicles and that the vehicles meet all of the safety emission standards. Depending on the severity of the charge, a person may want to hire a qualified lawyer to help review their case and determine the potential options that may be available.

Having Registration

When a law enforcement officer pulls the person over, they will request the person’s license and registration. Law enforcement officers are trained to always request this documentation. In the event that a person does not have their registration, they can issue them a citation for driving an unregistered vehicle.

Other Common Charges

It is not unusual to see driving an unregistered car charge separately from driving uninsured because frequently people whose vehicles are unregistered often do not have insurance. Additionally, a person may face a citation for failure to provide registration if they do not have the document in their car when pulled over by a police officer.

Information Needed

When speaking with a driving without registration lawyer, a person should have available any documentation received from the MVA regarding the renewal of their registration, their Maryland driver’s license, proof of ownership of their vehicle, such as a title, any previous vehicle registration, proof of Maryland car insurance, and proof of a motor vehicle inspection.

Laws in Bethesda

Under Maryland law, it is illegal to drive without proper auto insurance. When a person registers a car at the MVA, they will have to sign documentation that proves they have financial responsibility. Proof is shown by having at least the minimum amount of Maryland auto insurance that is required by law.

In Maryland, the minimum amounts of liability insurance are as follows: bodily injury at $30,000 per person, bodily injury at $60,000 for two or more people, and property damage at $15,000. A person facing charges should hire a Bethesda driving without registration and insurance lawyer, because the criminal penalties that are associated with this charge may include a possibility of incarceration. It is important to work with an attorney who knows the law as it relates to driving without insurance, knows the jurisdiction, and can help you get the best possible outcome in your case.

Driving without Registration or Insurance Charges

A person is required to show proof of car insurance if they are pulled over by a police officer or involved in a car accident. A person must also have proof of car insurance when registering a car or renewing registration at the MVA. The officer or the MVA will be put on notice that they did not have valid car insurance if they are not able to provide proof.

Penalties of driving without Registration or Insurance

If a person is convicted of driving without insurance, they may face jail time, a fine, or points on their record. The maximum penalty for driving without insurance is up to one year of incarceration, a $500 fine and five points on a driver’s license. Additionally, a person may lose their license plate and vehicle registration privileges or have to pay a restoration fee of up to $25.

Conviction Effects on Insurance in Future

A person may be prohibited from registering any future vehicles or from renewing a suspended registration until this violation is cleared. Additionally, a person’s driver’s record is one of the factors that a Bethesda car insurance company will use to determine rates. It is likely that if someone has a driving without insurance conviction on their record, the insurance company will charge them high rates, require them to purchase high-risk insurance or drop them altogether.

Bethesda Driving without Registration and Insurance Lawyer

A Bethesda driving without registration and insurance lawyer should be familiar with the Maryland Transportation Article as well as all of the requirements to obtain Maryland car insurance. The lawyer should also have knowledge of any penalties associated with a driving without an insurance conviction. Call an attorney today to see what you can do about your situation.

GET IN TOUCH WITH OUR
MARYLAND CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEYS