Maryland Assault Penalties
Maryland takes assault offenses very seriously. For a misdemeanor assault, the maximum penalty is 10 years. If it is a person’s first offense, it is likely that they will end up with a period of supervised probation. If it is a felony assault or a first-degree assault, the penalties are much more serious. It can carry a maximum penalty of 25 years.
The penalties for assault in Maryland can sometimes be quite severe. It is important to immediately contact an experienced defense attorney if you are being charged to understand the specific Maryland assault penalties in play.’
Understanding an Assault Charge
A first-degree assault is also defined as a crime of violence. From a parole standpoint, the defendant would have to do at least 50% of the sentence before being eligible for a parole. That makes a prison sentence significantly longer than if it was not a crime of violence.
At this point, an attorney may want to negotiate a person’s charge down to a misdemeanor because the Maryland assault penalties are less severe.
Most of the time, charges like assault are not going to qualify for a diversion program. However, there is always the exception to any rule. If it is a minor assault, the people are acquainted with each other, and there is no victim who wants to push the matter, it is possible the charge could be diverted to community service in exchange for the case being dismissed and the possible reduction of further assault penalties in Maryland.
Sometimes, the state will consider allowing the charge to be placed on the stet docket, which means it goes on inactive and the person might have to perform some conditions, like do community service or prove that they attended anger management classes.
Sometimes, a case will be placed on the stet docket if the defendant and the alleged victim are acquainted with each other and are going to continue to be acquainted with each other because they are family members, boyfriend and girlfriend, or husband and wife. That is the type of scenario where the case may not go to trial. As far as if the person is convicted, there are alternative sentencing options. These can help lessen the potential Maryland assault penalties the person may be facing.
An example may be if there is a drug or alcohol issue for the defendant, they may be allowed to go into drug court. More than likely, it means that there are going to be conditioned on their probation to address the issues, whether it is counseling related to alcohol, drug use, or anger management.
Contacting an Attorney
An attorney can be with a person if they decided to speak to the police. In this scenario, the attorney would be present and beneficial because the attorney is going to let the person know what questions they should or should not answer and how to answer them. Also, attorneys can be with the defendant from the first appearance in court, including the initial appearance with the commissioner. That is important because an attorney is going to make an argument that the person is released on their own recognizance or that they pay the most minimal bond possible.
Also, attorneys can be with the defendant from the first appearance in court, including the initial appearance with the commissioner. That is important because an attorney is going to make an argument that the person is released on their own recognizance or that they pay the most minimal bond possible.
Without an attorney, people do not know what to say or do to make an argument for themselves with the commissioner. The sooner that a person can get an attorney assisting, the better. An experienced lawyer can help a person reduce any potential Maryland assault penalties they may be up against.