FREE Case Evaluation
Montgomery County Driving Without a License Lawyer
Under Maryland law, an individual may not drive or attempt to drive a motor vehicle on any highway in Maryland unless the individual holds a valid driver’s license. A Montgomery County driving without a license lawyer will be able to go through the details of your case including the initial traffic stop; determine your best defense, and work toward giving you the best possible outcome. To learn more and begin building your defense consult with a traffic attorney in Montgomery County today.
An unlicensed driving charge is a criminal misdemeanor. Law enforcement officers are trained to ask for your license during every traffic stop for a moving violation, or if you are involved in a car accident. It is not uncommon to see this charge, along with other moving violations such as speeding and running a red light, as the underlying reason why the individual was stopped in the first place.
Unlicensed driving is a must-appear citation which comes with the potential of a $500 fine, five points, and up to 60 days in jail for a first offense. For a second or subsequent offense, the maximum jail time increases to up to 12 months making it imperative a driving without a license attorney in Montgomery County is contacted.
It is also possible that a judge will place someone in jail if they have not hired a Montgomery County traffic attorney, due to the seriousness of the offense. Someone might also go to jail if they have been charged previously for the unlicensed driving offense. However, many times this charge can be resolved by obtaining a valid license and bringing it to court to show the prosecutor.
Role of an Attorney
In Montgomery County, a driving without a license lawyer may help you get your charge reduced, or dropped altogether. A lawyer will be able to examine the traffic stop and determine whether the officer had a valid reason to stop you in the first place; if the stop was conducted in the appropriate manner; and whether any evidence which will be used against you in court was obtained in the appropriate manner.
Additionally, your charge may be reduced due to the efforts of a driving without a license lawyer if it is determined that you were in possession of a license which was revoked or suspended at the time you were stopped by the officer. In this instance, there will be a different charge than unlicensed driving. It will also be a different charge if at the time of the stop, you had a valid license but it was not on your person or in your vehicle to give to the officer.