Frederick DUI Lawyer
Maryland takes driving under the influence charges very seriously, and if you or a loved one are charged with a DUI offense in Maryland, you will need the help of an experienced DUI lawyer.
DUI laws vary from state to state, so it is crucial that you understand the charges and penalties you are facing. A Frederick DUI lawyer can examine your case, advise you of all your legal options, and help you come to a conclusion on what next steps to take.
Driving Under the Influence in Frederick
The blood alcohol content level that automatically qualifies for a DUI charge in Maryland is 0.08 percent, for standard adult drivers. Commercial drivers must abide by a stricter standard and may not have a BAC higher than 0.04 percent. Minors in Maryland are held to the strictest standard, with a BAC level of as low as 0.02 percent able to constitute a DUI charge.
DUI vs. DWI Charges
In Maryland, a DUI is distinct from and more serious than a DWI (driving while impaired) charge. DWI charges in Maryland generally indicate a lower BAC level. While a BAC of 0.08 percent can automatically trigger a DUI, a BAC of between 0.04 and 0.08 percent can constitute a DWI instead. For either charge, it is important the individual immediately reach out to a Frederick DUI attorney.
Under Maryland law, the severity of a Driving Under the Influence penalty can depend on whether the accused has a prior drunk driving charge, and how high the driver’s blood alcohol content level was. Penalties can include jail time and fines, as well as license suspension or revocation. In addition, a driver may receive points on their driver’s license.
First-time DUI offenses in Maryland are punishable by up to one year in jail, a six-month license suspension, and $1,000 in fines. Each subsequent DUI in Maryland carries increasingly harsh penalties. A second DUI offense conviction is punishable by up to two years in jail, a one-year license suspension, and $2,000 in fines or double the penalty for a first offense.
A third drunk driving conviction in Maryland carries up to three years in jail and $3,000 in fines, with a minimum 18-month license suspension required by the state.
These compounded penalties typically are only relevant during the so-called look-back period. In Maryland, the look-back period is five years. This means that three DUIs within five years could be treated much more harshly than three DUIs within a 10-year period. A Frederick DUI lawyer can be by their client’s side throughout the process and help mitigate the charges.
Consulting a Lawyer
Whatever the circumstances surrounding your DUI charge, it is important to work with an experienced Frederick DUI lawyer who can passionately defend your driving record and determine whether any DUI defenses may apply in your case.
Skilled DUI attorneys in Frederick are able to challenge an arresting officer’s subjective perceptions during field sobriety testing, as well as the validity of BAC breathalyzer testing equipment that may have been faulty.