Howard County Sex Crimes Lawyer
If you’re accused of a sex crime in Howard County, you face more than a criminal conviction and a possible prison sentence. If convicted, you may be forced to register with a state and national sex crime registry. That’s a lifelong social stigma, and it will make it almost impossible to find a job, housing, loans, or many other things associated with maintaining a conventional life once the immediate legal process and associated penalties are determined. For that reason, it is important to contact a Howard County sex crimes attorney as soon as possible. Call (301) 761-4842 for a free case analysis.
A Howard County sex crimes attorney with Kush Arora Attorney at Law can help residents of Elkridge, Columbia, Ellicott City, Fulton, Highland, Ilchester, North Laurel, Savage, Scagsville and other places in Howard County with a strategy designed to bring about the most positive outcome possible given the circumstances surrounding their cases.
Whether working to establish innocence, minimizing exposure to punishment or protecting clients’ interests in the aftermath of prosecution, a Howard County sex crimes attorney with Kush Arora Attorney at Law can be counted on to zealously champion defendants’ right and privileges.
Maryland Sex Crime Statutes
Title 3, Subtitle 3 of the Maryland criminal law code defines most sexually related offenses in that state. Title 11, Subtitle 1, Section 11 – 107 defines indecent exposure. MD Code Section 11-208 defines possession of Internet child pornography.
Most sex offenses in Maryland are prosecuted as felonies. Sexual offenses in the fourth degree, indecent exposure and possession of Internet child pornography are misdemeanors.
Maryland classifies sexual offenses into four categories, depending upon the gravity of the offense.
Sexual offense in the first degree
Sexual offense in the first degree occurs when force, or the threat of force, is used to compel a sexual act. Penalties associated with this conviction can include a prison sentence up to life. If the victim is under 16 years old, the penalty is a maximum of life imprisonment without the chance of parole.
Sexual offense in the second degree
Sexual offense in the second degree occurs when force, or the threat of force, is used to compel a sexual act involving a victim the offender knows is mentally or physically incapacitated, or if the victim is under 14 years of age and the offender is more than four years older than the victim. Penalties associated with this conviction include a prison term with a maximum length of 20 years, unless the victim is less than 13 years of age. If the victim is under 13 years of age and the offender is five years older, then the penalty can be between 15 years and life in prison.
Sexual offense in the third degree
Sexual offense in the third degree occurs when force, or the threat of force, is used to compel a sexual act, or when the victim is under 15 years of age. This statute is typically invoked in cases involving sexual acts with minors, even if the minor has agreed to sexual contact. In cases where the offender is a minor, a sexual offense in the third degree applies to a victim under 14 years of age and an offender who is four years older. Penalties associated with this kind of conviction include a prison term with a maximum length of ten years.
Sexual offense in the fourth degree
Sexual offense in the fourth degree occurs when a “person in a position of authority,” such as a teacher or a school counselor, engages in a sexual act with a minor who enrolled in a school that employs that person in a position of authority.
The penalties for this conviction include a fine of up to $1,000 and a jail term with a maximum of one year. Repeat offenders may be sentenced to a jail term of up to three years.
Attempted sexual offenses of the first and second degree are also felony offenses with harsh penalties that can include prison for life.
Howard County Sex Crimes Attorney
If you are arrested for a sex crime in Howard County, Maryland, you will be remanded to the Howard County Detention Center in the George Howard building in Ellicott City. Usually, within 24 hours, you will be brought before a court commissioner who will determine whether you can be released on bail.
The commissioner is prohibited from setting bail under certain circumstances, which frequently include situations where the alleged offender has been accused of a sexual offense.
A skilled Howard County sex crimes attorney may be able to establish that the accused represents no danger to public safety and is not a flight risk, which will increase the accused individual’s chances of being released on bail. An experienced Howard County sex crimes attorney will also provide the most qualified defense and representation should the indictment subsequently go to trial. If you are looking for information on other criminal charges in Howard County, visit our general Howard County criminal lawyer webpage – just one click away.