Driving Without Insurance in Anne Arundel County
Process of Ticketing
A “driving without insurance” ticket is a “must appear” ticket in Maryland, which means a person has to go to court and they will have to get insurance, preferably before they go to court. If they do not fix the problem before they go to court, the chances of getting a reduced sentence are not as good. Driving without the required minimum liability insurance in Maryland, especially if the person does have a valid license at the time in which they are pulled over, can result in the loss of license because of the points associated with it. Minimum liability insurance in Maryland is required in case of a violent injury. The minimum liability insurance requirements are $30,000 per person, $60,000 for two or more people, and property damage of $15,000.
If a person is convicted for driving without insurance in Anne Arundel County, they will have to pay a penalty of $150 for the first 30 days that they do not have insurance after the conviction, an additional $7.00 each day thereafter to a maximum of $2,500, and up to a $25 registration fee. A fine up to $1,000 and/or one year in jail could be assessed for providing false evidence of vehicle insurance. These are all for a first time offender. Ffor a second offense, all amounts go up. Driving without Insurance in Anne Arundel County can be very serious.
Not Having Insurance on a Person
The officer can check that if a person has insurance, but not on them. They may not even ask for it as they may just asked for license and registration. It is important to purchase an insurance policy, and it is generally okay if someone finds they do not have the paperwork in the car.
Penalties for Driving without Insurance in Anne Arundel
The fine is $150 for the first 30 days and then seven dollars each additional day, but the maximum that a person could receive in terms of a fine is about $1,000. Furthermore, for a conviction, there are five-point signals for the license, a $1,000 and up to one year in jail.
A person facing a second offense faces an additional five-points, two years in jail and a $2,000 fine and they may lose their license plate and registration, as well as a $25 fine.
Losing a license usually occurs for a limited amount of time unless something so egregious happens that the court just takes it away. But typically, people can get them back in six months. They cannot apply for a restricted license and they will not be able to get insurance.
Having Insurance and Not Registration
A person can be insured and not have a registration which means they do not have a car, but it is very rare for them to be separate. An individual cannot register a car in Maryland without having insurance. Yet, an individual can have insurance and have no registration for the car. If an individual does not have a registration, are not going to have insurance because no one will buy insurance for something they do not have. For more information on driving without a license in Anne Arundel County, talk to a professional lawyer.