Maryland Driving Without Insurance Lawyer
If a person is driving a vehicle which is uninsured and happens to get into an accident, they will be personally liable for the damages. Additionally, they may also be arrested and charged with driving uninsured, if, at the time of the accident, the driver was driving someone else’s car which was not insured. Circumstances such as these may lead a person to face not only a fine but also a license suspension and jail time.
Therefore if you have been charged with driving without insurance in the state of Maryland, it is important you contact a Maryland traffic lawyer for assistance in building a defense and preventing greater fees or charges from being levied against you.
Insurance is legally required for all drivers in Maryland, due to the fact that most people can’t afford to pay for damages out of pocket if involved in an accident. In Maryland, the minimum amount of liability insurance for bodily injury is $30,000 per person, $60,000 for two or more people, and property damage at $15,000.
Additionally, a person is required to show proof of insurance if pulled over by a police officer or if involved in a car accident. A person must also have proof of car insurance when registering their car, or renewing registration at the MVA. If any of these instances occur, the officer or the MVA will be put on notice that one does not have valid car insurance, or is not able to provide proof of such car insurance.
Penalties For Not Having Insurance
If a person is convicted of driving without insurance, they will face a $150 fine for the first 30 days lapsed and $7 for each additional day. The maximum fine a person can receive is $2,500. Furthermore, a conviction for a first offense can add up to five points on a person’s license, a $1,000 fine, and up to one year in jail. If they are facing a second offense, a conviction carries an additional five points, two years in jail, and a fine of $2,000. Additionally, the convicted may lose their license plate and vehicle registration privileges or have to pay a vehicle registration restoration fee of up to $25.
Additionally, a person may get their license suspended or revoked due to the accumulation of points on their driver’s record. This, in turn, will hinder them from obtaining a license in the future. Furthermore, a conviction will appear on a person’s criminal record, and will need to be disclosed to any potential employer.
How a Lawyer Can Help
An experienced Maryland driving without insurance lawyer is familiar with the Maryland driving laws as well as all of the requirements to obtain Maryland car insurance. Additionally, a lawyer will have in-depth knowledge of any penalties associated with a driving without insurance conviction and how to avoid them. The lawyer may be able to help an individual prove their vehicle was insured and protect them from the consequences.