FREE Case Evaluation
Ocean City Assault Lawyer
Assault in Ocean City could lead to jail time. An Ocean City assault lawyer will fight to help you get a not guilty verdict so you can avoid incarceration. There are many defenses to assault that can help you to keep your criminal record clean and stay out of prison. You need to make the right choices about how to handle your charges, and an attorney in Ocean City can provide you with the guidance and representation you deserve as your case gets resolved.
How an Ocean City Assault Lawyer Can Help
Choosing the right approach to defending yourself requires an understanding of how Maryland laws apply to Ocean City assault cases. An assault attorney in Ocean City can help you to understand your options for avoiding conviction or for lessening penalties with a plea agreement. An Ocean City assault lawyer can investigate the case, put together a strong defense, or talk to the prosecutor on your behalf about a plea deal.
You should not be found guilty of assault if a prosecutor can’t prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you broke the law. Let an assault lawyer in Ocean City work hard to undermine the prosecutor’s case. You owe it to yourself to do everything you can to avoid a criminal conviction.
Assault Laws in Ocean City
Assault is defined in Maryland Code Section 3-201 to include:
A prosecutor must prove that a defendant acted intentionally in order to secure a conviction for assault. The prosecutor also has to prove that the threat was credible and immediate and that a reasonable person would have felt fear because of it. These are subjective issues and an Ocean City assault lawyer can help you to argue that you did not act willfully or that any alleged threats were not credible and would not have caused fear in someone who was reasonable.
Penalties for Assault in Ocean City
Second degree assault is a misdemeanor under Maryland Code Section 3-203, which means it is a less serious offense. Conviction can lead to a maximum of 10 years imprisonment and a $2,500 fine unless the alleged victim was a police, probation, or parole officer. Second degree assault against a public servant can lead to a maximum of 10 years in prison and a $5,000 fine.
First degree assault is a felony under Maryland Code Section 3-202. Assault becomes a first degree offense instead of simple second degree assault if a firearm is involved or if attempts are made to cause serious injury, regardless of whether the attempt succeeds. Penalties include up to 25 years incarceration.