Silver Spring Gun Lawyer
In the state of Maryland, citizens must have a permit to carry or wear a handgun. It is illegal to transport or wear a handgun without a permit, even if it is concealed or inoperable. Citizens are also prohibited from transporting handguns in motor vehicles if they do not have proper permits. These rules do not apply to law enforcement or military officials.
If an individual wants to avoid these penalties, they will need to hire a Silver Spring gun lawyer who can craft the most robust defense possible. An experienced local defense attorney can ensure that a person’s legal rights are protected throughout this process.
Consequences of Violating Firearm Laws
If a person carries or transports a handgun without a permit, they can receive up to 30 days in jail and a fine of $250.00. Individuals who have prior gun charges can expect to spend up to 10 years in jail, and those who are caught carrying a handgun in proximity to a school a daycare can also expect to spend between three and 10 years in prison.
Use of a Handgun in the Commission of a Crime
When a person is believed to have used a gun to commit a crime, such as a robbery or assault, they can be charged with “use of a handgun in the commission of a crime.” This is a serious crime, and those charged with it will face harsher penalties than individuals who are simply charged with a violent crime.
Using a gun to commit a crime is a felony, and those who are convicted can expect a prison sentence of five to 20 years, and there will be no possibility of parole. The minimum sentence is five years, and it will run consecutively to any other sentence the defendant receives.
If a person is charged with “use of a handgun in the commission of a crime,” they will need the help of a seasoned Silver Spring gun lawyer.
Gun Offenses Involving Minors
It is illegal for minors (children under the age of 16) to carry, possess, or use firearms in the state of Maryland. Minors who illegally possess firearms can face various legal consequences, and in many circumstances, their parents will as well. It is also illegal to store a loaded firearm in a place that is accessible to a child. Children may only use a firearm if:
- The firearm was accessed after an unlawful entry.
- The child is supervised by an adult over the age of 18.
- The child possesses a firearm safety certificate.
- The firearm belongs to a law enforcement official who is in the middle of performing official duties.
Anyone who violates these rules will be charged with a misdemeanor, and they may be forced to pay a fine of up to $1,000. If a parent is charged, they will usually not be charged with any form of negligence. If a child is believed to have illegally possessed a gun, their parents should contact a Silver Spring gun lawyer at once.
Benefits of a Lawyer
If someone has been charged with a gun offense, they will more than likely need help from an attorney. Depending on the nature of the charges they are facing, a person could spend a significant amount of time behind bars if they are convicted.
Even if you are not imprisoned, having a criminal record can uproot your entire life and make it difficult for you to find housing or employment, and you could even lose your career and voting privileges. Contact a Silver Spring gun lawyer today for additional information.